The Tantalizing Treats of Harry Potter

The world of Harry Potter gives us much to imagine

Harry Potter

Harry Potter image brought to you by Wikipedia

For those of you who are not familiar with the Harry Potter series, “Harry Potter is a series of seven fantasy novels written by the British author J. K. Rowling. The books chronicle the adventures of a wizard, Harry Potter, and his friends Ronald Weasley and Hermione Granger, all of whom are students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The main story arc concerns Harry’s quest to overcome the Dark wizard Lord Voldemort, whose aims are to become immortal, conquer the wizarding world, subjugate non-magical people, and destroy all those who stand in his way, especially Harry Potter*”.

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Potter

One of the most popular things about the story of Harry Potter is all the food it has throughout the books.  It has all sorts of food, from magical to traditional British and sweets to full meals.

I’ve had the opportunity to enjoy some of these delicious delights and I am going to tell you a little about them.

Anything from the trolley?

The first time I really got an idea of the popularity of the food and candy was from the trolley witch.  she’d go up and down the isles asking the children if they’d like anything from the trolley.

When I was fortunate enough to go to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios Florida, I was able to visit Honeydukes.

Honeydukes

Honeydukes is the candy shoppe located in Hogsmeade and carries most the sweets found in the books.

Here is a list of sweets I’ve tasted along with a description:Peppermint Toads

Peppermint Toads: peppermint creams shaped like toads (“hop realistically in the stomach!”)*.

In this case, these peppermint toads were small morsels of dark peppermint flavoured chocolate.

FuzzingWhizzbees

 


Fizzing Whizbees
: massive sherbet balls that make you levitate.*

In this case, they have made this into bee like chocolates that contain popping candies, when eaten the popping candies fizzle and pop in your mouth.


 

Chocolate Frog: come with a collectable card of a famous witch or wizard in each pack.*Chocolate Frog

This is actually what it seems, there was a fairly large chocolate frog and it did come with a collectable wizards card.

 

 

 

 

Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Bean: These beans are essentially the same as regular jelly beans, but with flavors that you would never expect.

Bertie BottsIn this case, they are exactly identical.  I have had some flavours and they are extremely realistic.  Some are lovely and some are atrocious.

Some flavours include:

  • baked bean
  • booger
  • chocolate
  • coconut
  • coffee
  • curry
  • ear wax
  • grass
  • liver
  • marmalade
  • pepper
  • peppermint
  • sardine
  • spinach
  • sprouts
  • strawberry
  • toast
  • toffee
  • tripe
  • vomit

Sherbet Lemon

Sherbet Lemon: Also known as lemon drops, sherbet lemon is actually a non-magical treat, but a favourite of Dumbledore’s.

In this case, they are exactly as described.

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin JuicePumpkin Juice: Is commonly seen throughout the Harry Potter books.  It is very popular in the wizarding world and can be enjoyed at anytime of the day.

In this case, it is identical to it’s description.  Refreshing when cold, has pumpkin and spice flavours.

 

*Harry Potter Lexicon – http://www.hp-lexicon.org/wizworld/candy.html

I hope you enjoyed reading about these treats come to life as much as I enjoyed sharing this information with you.  Stay tuned for created recipes from my imagination to yours!

Until next time…
*Evanesco*

-N

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “The Tantalizing Treats of Harry Potter

  1. Jeyna Grace February 19, 2013 at 12:21 am Reply

    The HP world is so vast, theres always new things to discover.

    • Nahren Shamoka February 19, 2013 at 12:33 am Reply

      Hi Jeyna! I completely agree with you there, I could write tons and tons just on the foods in Harry Potter! Thanks so much for visiting :)!

  2. danielasmis February 19, 2013 at 11:25 am Reply

    I hear at the Harry Potter theme park at Universal Studios you can buy a butter-beer. I wonder how good that tastes.

    • Nahren Shamoka February 19, 2013 at 11:45 am Reply

      I was there, it does :D! I have a photo, I will post that at another time, when I make the beverages :). I got both the regular and frosted kind, both are sweet and delicious. Sorta like cream soda, but they added a whipped topping to it, I could have done without that, it only makes it more sweet.

  3. The Aaron Wade February 22, 2013 at 11:09 am Reply

    I’m not gonna lie I was a little bit let down by the pumpkin juice IRL but I pretty much love everything else when I was there (especially the bacon flavoured bean). Did you try the butter beer? I enjoyed it but not what I imagined.

    • The Aaron Wade February 22, 2013 at 11:10 am Reply

      Never mind…. Maybe I should read the comments before commenting… Lol

    • Nahren Shamoka February 22, 2013 at 11:25 pm Reply

      haha I had the bacon flavoured bean as well lol. Yes I did try it, refreshing, but also not what I imaged :p

  4. […] a previous post, I touched base on Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans.  I discussed existing flavours, […]

A nickel for your thoughts?

