Pi Day

Do you know what March 14th is?

It’s Pi Day!

Image brought to you by SeattlePi.Com

What is Pi day?

Pi

What is Pi?

“Pi Day is an annual celebration commemorating the mathematical constant π (pi). Pi Day is observed on March 14 (or 3/14 in the month/day date format), since 3, 1, and 4 are the three most significant digits of π in the decimal form. In 2009, the United States House of Representatives supported the designation of Pi Day.

Pi Day has been observed in many ways, from eating pie to discussing the significance of the number π.”* – *Adapted from Wikipedia

Where did Pi Day come from?

Larry Shaw

“The earliest known official or large-scale celebration of Pi Day was organized by Larry Shaw (Photo, right) in 1988 at the San Francisco Exploratorium, where Shaw worked as a physicist, with staff and public marching around one of its circular spaces, then consuming fruit pies.

The Exploratorium continues to hold Pi Day celebrations.*” – *Wikipedia

Awesome reasons for eating pie on Pi day?

  • A pie is a circle… (coincidence?)
  • It’s March 14th (3/14)
  • Albert Einstein’s Birthday is on March 14th (Happy Birthday to him!)
  • My birthday is on March 14th ;)!
  • It’s always a good time to eat Pie!

Can it get more awesome then that?

But it’s March 18th?

There is nothing wrong with a belated celebration.  Also, please refer to the last bullet in the aforementioned list :).

With that, I leave you with this awesome Pi Day pie chart from Shutterstock (very neat, totally check it out)!

Cheers,
Nahren

Tagged: , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Pi Day

  1. TheGreatZambini March 18, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

    I agree, it is always a good day to eat pie! There`s some cool history in this post as well, which I am always a fan of 🙂

    • Nahren Shamoka March 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

      It’s nice to find sane people in this world, eh lol? Thank you for commenting, I’m very glad you like this post! 🙂

  2. shraddha299 March 18, 2013 at 5:37 pm Reply

    Belated Happy Birthday Nahren,..Wish you all the health, wealth & happiness always..Hope you had a good time !

    • Nahren Shamoka March 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm Reply

      Why thank you my dear! It was a very good birthday, I was spoiled! Do I look 30? lol

  3. shraddha299 March 18, 2013 at 6:32 pm Reply

    Some Words of Wisdom : A lady never ages beyond 18… 😉

  4. charlottepeer March 18, 2013 at 6:36 pm Reply

    Happy belated birthday my dear!!! I hope you had a fab birthday (and ate lots of pie!)

    • Nahren Shamoka March 18, 2013 at 6:38 pm Reply

      Thank you my sweet! I did, was spoiled and I did have cake lol, no pie :p!

  5. adriannesprogis March 18, 2013 at 9:03 pm Reply

    I had no idea that it was Pi Day. I must put in my calendar so I don’t miss it next year. Thank you for letting us celebrate with you.

    • Nahren Shamoka March 25, 2013 at 2:57 pm Reply

      Well I am very glad you liked it my dear. Thank you for celebrating with me ;)!

  6. Mark Darovny March 19, 2013 at 1:27 am Reply

    One could consume half a pi, and claim they only ate about 1.6 pieces. #rationalization

    • Nahren Shamoka March 25, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

      lol, that’s too much math for a Monday Mark! lol Good one though.

  7. Bonnie Chao April 1, 2013 at 7:24 pm Reply

    Craving apple cinnamon pie with a side of vanilla ice cream now 😛

A nickel for your thoughts?

